Archive for May, 2009

2008 CFPC Annual Meeting Online Proceedings

Wednesday, May 20th, 2009

CALIFORNIA FOREST PEST COUNCIL
57th ANNUAL MEETING

Featured Topic: California Forest Health – A Practical Approach

November 18-19, 2008

Heidrick Ag. Center
1962 Hays Lane, Woodland, CA


Click on Presentation Title Hyperlink to View PDF File
Set your Adobe Acrobat Zoom to “Fit Page”, then use Enter or Page Down key to view slides.

Due to file sizes, downloading may take some time — Please be patient!

Tuesday, November 18

Animal Damage: Recognizing the Habitat Connection

This informal mini-course will cover the basic concepts of how habitat structure and composition affects animal
behavior and then move into how silvicultural practices that produce appropriate habitat characteristics elicit
damage behaviors.

Speaker – Gregory A. Giusti, UCCE Lake County Director, Forest Advisor, RPF#2709 Wildlands Ecology Advisor,
IHRMP Advisor and Affiliate-College of Natural Resources UCB; gagiusti@ucdavis.edu


Insect Committee Meeting – Beverly Bulaon, CFPC Insect Committee Chairperson

Invasion of Redhaired Pine Bark Beetle into the Southern California National Forest System Following Fires
Deguang Liu, USDA Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station and UC Davis. dgliu@ucdavis.edu

Protecting Individual Pines from Bark Beetles: Systemic Insecticides and Semiochemicals
Sheri L. Smith, USDA Forest Service, Forest Health Protection, Susanville, CA ssmith@fs.fed.us and Brian L. Strom,
USDA Forest Service, Southern Research Station, Pineville, LA. brianstrom@fs.fed.us.

Bark Beetles, Fires and Fuel Management Treatments
Christopher J. Fettig, USDA Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station, Davis. cfettig@fs.fed.us

Insect committee business meeting


Disease Committee Meeting Paul Zambino – CFPC Disease Committee Chairperson

Genome Approaches for Forest Health Management
David Neale, UC-Davis, Dept. of Plant Sciences, dbneale@ucdavis.edu

Phytophthora cinnamomi: An Emerging Pathogen in California Forests
Elizabeth Fitchner, UC-Davis, Plant Pathology Department, ejfichtner@ucdavis.edu and Ted Swiecki, Phytosphere
Research, phytosphere@phytosphere.com

Pitch Canker Status and Research Update
Tom Gordon,
UC-Davis, Plant Pathology Department, trgordon@ucdavis.edu

Disease committee business meeting

Poster session, “Stump the Experts” and Social

What’s wrong with my tree? Stump the Experts

Entomologists and pathologists will be available to diagnose specimens. Participants are encouraged to bring samples
and pictures of tree damage for examination. (Please carefully safeguard specimens so pests are not introduced to
Woodland or points along the way.)

Diagnosticians:

California Department of Food and Agriculture Pathologists (Sacramento):

Cheryl Blomquist, CBlomquist@cdfa.ca.gov;
Suzanne Latham, SLatham@cdfa.ca.gov;
Kathy Kosta, kkosta@cdfa.ca.gov.

USDA Forest Service and CAL Fire Entomologists :

Don Owen, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, Redding
Beverly Bulaon, USDA Forest Service, Stanislaus National Forest, Forest Health Protection, Sonora, bbulaon@fs.fed.us


Wednesday, November 19 – General Session
Welcome – Bob Rynearson, Chairman, CA Forest Pest Council; W.M. Beaty and Associates, McArthur, CA. bobr@wmbeaty.com

Featured Topic: Case Study in Managing Forest Health Issues: The Lake Tahoe Basin
Moderator: Hugh Safford, Regional ecologist, USDA Forest Service, Vallejo. hughsafford@fs.fed.us

The Fate of Tahoe Basin forests after the Angora Fire
Hugh Safford, Regional ecologist, USDA Forest Service, Vallejo. hughsafford@fs.fed.us

Fire Management and Forest Restoration in the Lake Tahoe Basin
John Pickett, The Sugar Pine Foundation. firesafechapters@yahoo.com

Forest Health and Environmental Change in the Lake Tahoe Basin
Patricia Maloney, UC-Davis, Department of Plant Pathology. patricia-maloney@sbcglobal.net


Featured Topic: 2008 New and Noteworthy Forest Health Issues
Moderator:
Mike Bohne, formerly, USDA- Forest Service, Forest Health Protection, Sacramento. Currently, Forest Health Group Leader, Durham, NH. mbohne@fs.fed.us

2008 California Forest Conditions Overview: An Aerial View of Forest Pest Activity
Zachary Heath, USDA Forest Service, Forest Health Protection, Sacramento, zheath@fs.fed.us; and Mike Bohne, USDA
Forest Service, Forest Health Protection, Durham, NH. mbohne@fs.fed.us

Gold-Spotted Oak Borer in Southern California
Steven Seybold, USDA Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station, Davis. sseybold@fs.fed.us

Biogeography of San Diego Co. Oak Mortality
Thomas Scott, University of California Cooperative Extension, Riverside. Thomas.Scott@ucr.edu

An Overview of the 2008 Fire Year
Ken Pimlott, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CALFIRE). Ken.Pimlott@fire.ca.gov

Sudden Oak Death Update
David Rizzo, UC-Davis, Plant Pathology Department, dmrizzo@ucdavis.edu and Janice Alexander, CA Oak Mortality
Task Force, UC Cooperative Extension, Marin County. jalexander@ucdavis.edu

CA Aspen: Distribution and Health
Kenneth W. Tate, Rangeland Watershed Specialist, Department of Plant Sciences, University of California – Davis.
kwtate@ucdavis.edu

Walnut Twig Beetle/Thousand cankers
Steven Seybold, USDA Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station, Davis. sseybold@fs.fed.us

CA Forest Pest Council annual business meeting


Featured Topic: Innovative Forest Health Monitoring Techniques
Moderator: Lisa Fischer, USDA Forest Service, Forest Health Protection, Davis. lisafischer@fs.fed.us

Using MODIS Imagery to Enhance Aerial Detection Survey
Frank Sapio, USDA Forest Service, Forest Heath Technology Enterprise Team, Fort Collins, CO. fsapio@fs.fed.us

Emerald Ash Borer Biosurveillance, using Cerceris fumipennis to Detect Buprestidae
Michael Bohne, Forest Health Group Leader, USDA Forest Service, Durham, NH. mbohne@fs.fed.us

Lichens as a Forest Health Indicator in California
Sarah Jovan, USDA-Forest Service, Forest Inventory and Analysis. Portland, OR. sjovan@fs.fed.us

Molecular Techniques for Forest Health Monitoring
Rachel Linzer, UC Berkeley, Environmental Policy, Science and Management. rwarner@nature.berkeley.edu

Featured Topic: On the Ground Management of Forest Insects and Pathogens
Moderator: Don Owen, California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, Redding. don.owen@fire.ca.gov

Factors Influencing the Abundance and Severity of Recent Bark Beetle Infestations in Coniferous Forests of Western US: What Can be Done?
Christopher J. Fettig, USDA Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station, Davis. cfettig@fs.fed.us

Forest Thinning and Bark Beetle-Caused Mortality in the Warner Mountains
Joel Egan, USDA Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station and Colorado State Univ. jegan@fs.fed.us or
joelegan@holly.colostate.edu

Managing Insects and Diseases in Commercial Plantations
Paul Violett, pviolett@soperwheeler.com and Bill Morrison, Soper-Wheeler, Strawberry Valley, CA.
bmorrison@soperwheeler.com

Ongoing and Upcoming Pesticide use Injunctions and their Impacts
Polo Moreno. CA Department of Pesticide Regulation, Pest Management and Licensing Branch – Endangered Species,
Sacramento. PMORENO@cdpr.ca.gov

Adjourn